Recycling to Create a New Crayon

I am a Pre-K teacher and my students really love to color. They make drawings and color pictures all the time. This creates several piles of crayon nubs. I always hate to waste things, so I started recycling the tiny crayon nubs by melting them down into new and fun shapes!

I have had my fair share of problems with my new creations…

IMG_0802[1]

but they do look cool once they are finished. The wax overflowed in the mold. This can be fixed by chipping the excess off, or my using a lighter to reshape the edges.

IMG_0804[1] IMG_0803[1]

 

You can also find other crayons in my Etsy shop. The dinosaur crayons in the mold above are for my class, but I make other shapes too.

Leave a Reply

